It’s not that bad

In the scheme of life things, this is nothing. But my baby girl has a head tilt. Torticollis. One neck muscle is shorter than the other and when she sits up her head tilts a little to the left. We just met our new pediatrician (just moved) and she noticed this. Baby girl is 7 months old and just mastered sitting up a few weeks ago. When she sleeps her head is always to the same side. I thought it was just a cute thing, but no. You can’t tell when you’re holding her, just when she’s sitting, so we didn’t see anything before now. Good news is that a little physical therapy for a few months should straighten it all out and she’ll be fine. But if the doctor hadn’t noticed, it would get progressively worse. Isn’t that interesting? I had never heard of it before. I am very thankful for the good health of my family and my two kiddos.

I tell you what though. As minor as this is, I teared up at the doctor’s office. I hated hearing that something wasn’t quite right with our baby girl. Look at that smile! Look at those chunky thighs! Nothing could possibly be wrong with the future first female president of the United States.

Our first PT appointment is next week. Did you know that physical therapy is sometimes done on newborns? I had no idea. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

