Money and poo

So, apparently my salary will cover day care and my husband’s will cover rent. Thank you Bay Area.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving the closeness of my family and actual civilization, and the weather, and the culture, and the beach, and the general awesomeness, but yikes. I guess awesomeness comes with a price.

Toddler boy is 26 months old and baby girl is 6 months.  The crazies have moved in.  Toddler is certainly testing the waters, and his parents in every way he can, but he’s also loving his little sister.  What he calls “my baby”, which is pretty sweet, especially when he brings her her toys, completely unprompted.  Baby girl is rolling over and drooling all over herself.  It’s such a fun age, but I suppose they all are.  I’m just trying to enjoy the 2 year old right now while recognizing that all kids go through this stage and it will be okay. Right?  It will be okay right?  They are pretty fantastic and I love them to bits.

In other news, if I hear one more person tell me that their little boy wasn’t potty trained until he was 4 I may scream.  That’s not right.  There must be something between applying a little assertiveness and waiting until he is ready because I can tell you that we are not looking forward to 4 year old boy poop.  No thank you.  I’ll bribe him with whatever, but I’m done.

Please tell me your thoughts on this one.  He’s not interested in stickers or seeing progress on a chart leading to a reward.  He’ll tell us when he’s gone, after the fact, but not before.  He’s interested, to a point.  Really, sanity is at stake people.  What say you?

Also, I’m in the final stages of interviews for a new job, wish me luck!

4 responses to “Money and poo

  1. We didn’t even start toilet training Oscar until he was 2.5, and that is because that’s when he was interested in using the potty. He was trained fully trained about six weeks before he turned 3. It took three and a half months. We bribed him, big time. Lolly pops, race cars, whatever.

    If he’s not telling you until after he’s gone, he’s probably not ready biologically. Praise him for telling you he’s gone and remind him to tell you the next time before he goes, and when he starts doing that, he’s ready. They sometimes can’t even feel the urge to go until they are 3. Just be patient with him. My Miles is the same age as your toddler and I haven’t even started training him. He’s just not ready, and that’s fine. If you start before they are ready, that’s a lot more pee for you to clean up off the floor as far as I’m concerned.

    Good luck on your interview!

  2. crazylovescompany

    Thanks Jenni. I appreciate all advice. I agree, I don’t want to push him and make it worse. I know he’ll get there. BTW, love your latest banner.

  3. I bet he will be doing it by the time he is three. I am on your team as far as the 4 yr old thingy goes. I used to read all the mags and I’d tell Hubs that apparently boys take until after age 3 and he had to remind me that our son was going pee in the toilet before bathtime. All 3 of our boys were at about 2 yrs and 8 months. For months they would go before a bath or when we’d ask if they had to go , etc. Then we’d buy them underwear and commit one weekend of not going anywhere and wearing the underwear and sleeping in underwear–make the bed and then make it again with sheets on top of a shower curtain. When he wakes up wet, just be normal and change him and the bed. I never understood how underwear during day and diapers at night would work. That one weekend is all it took for mine.

  4. crazylovescompany

    Fantastic advice Michele, thank you!

Leave a Reply

