Book Review: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

I couldn’t put this book down.  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn moved me and I love the way Betty Smith wrote.  When you read it you can’t tell it was written more than 50 years ago.  I like how it shows the strength and the crazy of families and it’s a little bit comforting that families had their own brand of crazy even 50 years ago.  There is plenty of crazy today and I think we can pretty much guarantee there will be more crazy 50 years from now.

The story is about a little girl growing up incredibly poor in Brooklyn, with an older brother that can do no wrong, a father who is always out trying some new venture, frequently failing, and mom that is trying very hard to hold it all together.  It’s about more than that though.  It’s told through the eyes of the little girl and it’s so descriptive I felt in the book.   I can image how Brooklyn was at the time.  I’d like to travel to back then and spend some time, but I think I’d welcome coming back to 2010.  Betty Smith makes you feel what the little girl feels when she is trying to save pennies, when she sees her mom hurting and when she needs to run.

It’s a wonderful story and certainly deserving of all the accolades.  Am I the last person on the planet to read it?  Maybe.

Leave a Reply

