The Very First Movie Review: Sunshine Cleaning

Hi.  I haven’t been to a movie theater since 2008.  I suppose by choice.  We have a 14 month old toddler and when it comes to the idea of going out on a date with my husband, a movie isn’t at the top of the list.  We do have regular movie nights courtesy of NetFlix.  We see at least one a week and rarely are they Hollywood blockbusters.  They are.. frequently off the wall.  So maybe these reviews aren’t for you, but if you’re looking for something new, these might interest you.  On to the review.

Sunshine Cleaning is fantastic.  I would have loved to hear the pitch on this one.  It probably went something like this:

Bob, I have a great idea for a screenplay.

There is this waitress and she has a kid, and crazy sister and a crazier dad.  She needs money and she stumbles on the potentially lucrative profession of CLEANING UP AFTER GRIZZLY DEATH SCENES.  She recruits her sister who eventually totally screws them both out of the business before dad comes in and saves the day.  Is that  a spoiler?  Sorry.

Yea.  Also, Emily Blunt, Amy Adams and Alan Arkin.  I love Alan Arkin.  Definitely a dark comedy.  Love, Love Love it.

Rent it now.  Thank you.

One response to “The Very First Movie Review: Sunshine Cleaning

  1. I saw it at the theater with a few of my daughters (teens come in handy for a change) and we all really enjoyed it.
    I’ve always liked Alan Arkin and am an Amy Adams fan.
    I do love me some dark comedy and wit.

Leave a Reply

