Clotheslines In the Yard?

Why is it that in some places it’s totally ok to hang your laundry out on a line to dry, and some, not so much?  

Trailer park?  stereotypical, but ok

Suburban U.S.?  no

Urban U.S.? I have no idea; maybe just in West Side Story?

On a farm? sure

I spent a year in Brisbane, Australia in a very nice building of very nice condos, and on the roof of this 20 story building?  Clotheslines.  Tons of them.

What brought this topic on you may ask?  I just got back from a walk with Husband and the bundle and in the backyard of one of our neighbors down the street, was a clothesline that I’ve never seen used before.  What was on it?  No less than a dozen pairs of tighty whiteys, all hung the same way.  If it wasn’t in someone’s backyard I’d say it was art.  Picture it, 12 pairs of bright white underwear flapping in the Spring breeze.  Didn’t exactly say ‘classy’.  Ok by you?

5 responses to “Clotheslines In the Yard?

  1. Hmm, I can picture it now! I do think clotheslines are A-OK and they’re certainly environmentally better. Many HOA’s, though, have outlawed them, I guess because of their trailer park associations. Too bad.

  2. It’s a shame you don’t see them more often. Great for the environment. Great for the clothes. Great for kid’s hiding behind during hide and go seek. I love to hang stuff up outside, and no I don’t live in a trailer park. I’m suburban all the way.

  3. I was actually thinking of putting a clothes line up this year, although I’d probably still use the dryer for undies.

  4. I was actually thinking of putting a clothes line up this year, although I’d probably still use the dryer for undies.

  5. Mary q Contrarie

    I think hanging laundry can be beautiful…. However if you don’t feel it is “ok” then you always have the option of hiding your laundry by using a clothes drying rack somewhere inside your house or garage.

Leave a Reply

