The Oscar Pool is here!

I have not seen one Oscar nominated movie this year and it’s a first for me.  Last year we did a double feature to get in the last two of the most nominated movies we hadn’t seen, No Country For Old Men and There Will Be Blood.  However, I’m sure you have all done your part to help the economy and purchased full price movie tickets to many of the fine films up for awards.

Oh, my bad.  I just checked the list and I’ve seen seven, but none of the ones nominated for best picture.  

Tropic Thunder, which is hilarious if you can tuck any PC thoughts away for 2 1/2 hours.  The Dark Knight, I didn’t realize it had been nominated, but Heath is for Supporting Actor and Robert DJ was nominated for Tropic Thunder in the same category.  Both movies were entertaining and Husband and I liked them a lot.  Sure, they are big Hollywood blockbusters, millions of dollars spent, but sometimes that’s all you want right?  Entertainment.  Wall-E was nominated for animated film (duh) and I thought it sucked.  But then again I don’t think I was the target audience for that one.  Finally, we saw Iron Man (several technical categories), Australia (Costumes) which was very good, Wanted, which is exactly what you’d think it would be and In Bruges (original screenplay), which was very entertaining and original and I’d highly recommend it if use of the f-bomb in every sentence doesn’t offend you.

Sure, Slumdog Millionaire looks good, but I really want to see Milk and Frost/ Nixon because I like movies based on recent events, well relatively recent.  I also can’t wait for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button to come out because, helloooo, Brad Pitt is a hottie wether he’s 40 or digitized to be 100.  There’s no way I’m getting to a movie theater anytime soon so I’ll be waiting for DVD or Comcast.  Vicky Cristina Barcelona looks great too, and I love Penelope Cruz and that guy.  I forget the name of that guy in the movie.

So, if you’re killing time, fill out the Oscar Pool.  No, there is no prize or fee to enter, so not really a pool, but show the world (or my 2 readers) that you know your Hollywood.   

Shout out to Defective Yeti!

Leave a Reply

