Drooling on a baby. A Queen of Hindsight moment

So.  Several years ago a colleague of mine brought in her month old baby to the office with her partner. The baby was super cute.  He was gurgly and happy and the sweetest thing.  And then he threw up all over himself.  So they changed his shirt in her office and he was laying on her desk with his big baby belly and we’re all oohing and aahing and his big baby belly is exposed and I’m overcome with the desire to blow a big fat raspberry on his tummy.  So, I do.  It wasn’t weird, it was a very casual environment, I blew a raspberry on his tummy.  What was weird was that it was unexpectedly juicy and when I stood up there was a little string of my drool connecting the baby’s tummy to my lip for a second.  It seemed like hours.  I knew it happened.  I’m sure they saw it.  A string of drool, a wet juicy mark on their precious baby’s tummy.  I was hugely embarrassed.  I’m not related to them.  I WORK with her.  What did I do?  Nothing.  I should have made a joke, I should have played it off with some off hand comment about juiciness, said something like “oh my god, I drooled on your baby!” but no.  I did not.  I should have said something.  I just ignored it, hoping they wouldn’t notice.  But please.  They were standing right next to me.  They saw the string.  I never recovered.  People, this is at least 5 years ago.  It’s still fresh in my mind.  That’s not good.

2 responses to “Drooling on a baby. A Queen of Hindsight moment

  1. Oh ya, you should have made a joke. Bwah ha ha ha ha!

  2. That’s hilarious! I’m sure she’s forgotten it by now and if it makes you feel better, a complete stranger went up to my friend’s baby in the grocery store and put her knuckle in the baby’s mouth. I’m a germophobe so when I took my son to work for the first time, I brought a huge bottle of GermX and refused to let anyone touch him without lubing up.

Leave a Reply

