A short but important list of foods that should be considered healthy, but aren’t

Good morning and shout out to abdpbt for the Listlessness Mondays!

I made spinach dip the other day and it was so good.  I actually thought: this is the first time I’ve had spinach in months, and it’s so good for you, I wonder if it counts as a vegetable if it’s in a dip?

I mean, I know it counts, it’s not like the spinach is changed in some way making it lose the vitamins and goodness it has.  I guess it’s more like, hmmm, do the yogurt and mayo cancel the spinach out? 

This made me think of all the foods I really like, that I wish were healthy and have tried to rationalize in my head.  Oh stop, like you haven’t done that too.  

  • spinach dip (especially if you make it yourself with lowfat yogurt and mayo with lots of spinach)
  • ice cream (dairy!)
  • carmel apples (fruit!)
  • peanut butter (especially the natural kind that I love, but surprisingly, it’s not)
  • pizza (it’s got tomato sauce which is very good for you, dairy, veggies, minimal meat, how is this not a meal all by itself?)

What else do you have to add?

2 responses to “A short but important list of foods that should be considered healthy, but aren’t

  1. I could eat only the things on that list and be perfectly happy!

  2. Lets see, veggies with ranch dip; multigrain Tostitos; chocolate milk. Those are the things I convince myself are “good” for me 😉

Leave a Reply

