Rich cheeks and first dates

Do you like the new header image?  Taken at the beach a few weekends ago, my friend, Crabby McCrab.

I was out at dinner the other night with some friends and as an app we had pork cheeks.  It had some fancy name, but basically, that’s what they were, pig cheeks.  How were they you ask?  They were succulent.  And I don’t use that word lightly.  Moist, yet crispy bits of pork; and it was served with….. cubes of seedless watermelon.  Weird right?  Yes.  No, it balanced out the richness of the cheeks.

To the side of our table, a little behind me, was a man and woman in their early twenties.  I think they were on a second or third date.  They knew each other, but they were playing the “tell me about yourself” game.  She didn’t touch her wine until dinner, and I think he did most of the talking. But it was hard to tell.  I was trying really hard not to look like I was eavesdropping, but I totally was.

Do you remember those dates?  It’s been 10 years since I’ve been on a date (not because I’m anti-social but because my husband wouldn’t like it) but I remember those first dates being sort of a mixed bag.  There was the excitement of going out with someone I thought I was hot, or interesting, or both; there was the nervousness of hoping I would be able to uphold my part of the conversation and there was the finger crossing while I hoped that the guy wouldn’t turn out to be a total sleaze/ bore/ self-absorbed turkey.  

There was a time where I gave up on dating.  At the opposite end of the spectrum I went through a brief period where I was thrilled when the guy was fully employed and not living with his parents.  Yeah, that’s a little sad isn’t it?  But hey, a girl’s gotta have standards and I admit, there was a time when the bar wasn’t that high.  And then I met the man that was going to be my husband and it hit me like a ton of bricks that he was THE ONE.  I know, I don’t think it normally happens like that.  I really lucked out, but so did he.

So single readers, what’s the first date scene like now?  Anything change in 10 years?  Details please.

 

One response to “Rich cheeks and first dates

  1. yeah, my husband doesn’t allow me to date either.

    and I am ALSO due on December 6! woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

